Monday, August 19, 2019


 See this weeks print edition  

for these stories:

  • Area Bowling Results





Local News Article
Return to Previous Page

UPSD School Board Candidate Field Reaches Double Digits
Written by Bradley Schlegel, Staff Writer

            The field seeking a seat on the Upper Perkiomen School Board this spring has grown to double digits. Ten candidates vying for five seats have collected enough signatures to appear on the May 21 Primary ballot. All will compete in Republican and Democratic races, according to an unofficial list posted on the Montgomery County Voter Services website.

            Mike Elliott, Dr. John L. Farris, Judy Maginnis and Raeann Hofkin seek to maintain their seats. Only one incumbent, Joan Smith, is not running.

            The challengers include Peg Pennepacker, Dana E. Hipszer, Joe Borgese, Ed Walczak, Thomas Manion and John L. Gehman, a former board president.

             In Pennsburg, four Republican candidates will be competing for three seats with a four-year term. Kristopher G. Kirkwood, Joan M. Wieder, and Bob Seville, all incumbents, will be challenged Maggie Hange.  

            Three other Republican newcomers - Wayne Stevens, Patrick M. Suter and Larry Hange - will compete for a two-year term on council. No Democrats will be on the ballot in the borough.

            In Lower Frederick, nine candidates are competing for four seats on the township's five-member board of supervisors.  The Democratic primary for two six-year terms included Chuck Yeiser, Chris Kristofco, Noelle Halter and Jennifer Bryan. The Republican battle includes incumbent Terry Sacks along with challengers Terry Bird and Nathan J. Schadler.

            The primary bids for one four-year term includes four Democrats -- Bryan, Halter, Kristofco and Yeiser - and three Republicans - Bryan J. Hill, Bird and Dan Orfe. In the battle for a seat with a two-year term, Yeiser, Halter, Kristofco and Bryan appear as Democrats. Bird and Chuck Liedike are listed on the Republican ballot.

            Alicia Wright and Sherry B. Schweikert have also qualified for the Democratic primary in two separate auditor races in Lower Frederick. No Republicans are listed as candidate for either position.

            In Red Hill, four seats are available. Doris Decker, Donna M. Paul and Robert Walp, a trio of Republicans, are the only candidates listed for three four-year seats. Kimberly Gery, a Republican, is the only candidate listed to fill a two-year term.

            In East Greenville, two Democrats - Melissa Leinbach and incumbent Alison Palmer - as well as three Republicans - current members Doug Criddle and John D. Dingler, along with newcomer John F. McAllister, are competing for three four-year terms.

            In Lower Salford, three Republicans will face off for two seats that carry a six-year term. The primary will include incumbents Christopher R. Canavan and Philip P. Heilman along with challenger David M. Scheuren. Bruce J. Rhoades and Kevin Shelly will be unchallenged in the Democratic race. Republican John B. Nase is the lone candidate running for auditor in the township.

            In Marlborough, incumbent supervisor Republican Brian Doremus is the only candidate listed for one six-year term. Two auditor positions, which run four and six years, respectively, have no listed candidates, according to the county's unofficial list.

            In New Hanover, D.W. Boone Flint and Kurt D. Zebrowski are listed as the only candidates for two six-year terms on the board of supervisors. An auditor position in the township has no candidates.

            In Upper Salford, Democratic Dennis Erb and Republican Kevin O'Donnell will be unchallenged for a six-year term on the township's board of supervisors. Louise Pullen, a Republican, is the only candidate for a six-year auditor position.

            In Berks County, Hereford Township incumbent supervisor John Membrino is running unopposed for another six-year term on the board of supervisors.

            In Bally Borough, a pair of Democrats is the only candidates listed for two seats on council, which includes one open seat. Paul Gehringer looks to defend his own seat. Michael Moll is also a candidate.

            In Washington Township, two Republicans are running for the board of supervisors. They include Chair David Moyer and challenger Jayme Benfield.

            In Bucks County, five four-year seats are available on the Quakertown Community School Board. One seat comes from Region 1, while two are up for grabs in both Region 2 and Region 3.

            In Quakertown, four four-year seats on borough council are available.

            In Trumbauersville, three four-year seats on borough council are up for grabs. 

            In Milford Township, one six-year term on the board of supervisors is available.





Join our Business Directory today and get the introductory rate for a full year.
Click Here.


Home Editorial
News Photos
Sports Business Directory
Obituaries Classified Ads
Calendar Contact Us
  Advertise with the Town & Country... It's the weekly paper that people read, not just look at!  Click here to learn more or sign up.   Serving the municipalities of Bally, East Greenville, Green Lane, Hereford, Lower Salford, Marlborough, Milford, New Hanover, Pennsburg, Red Hill, Trumbauersville, Upper Hanover, Upper Salford
The Town & Country is now available at 64 locations throughout the region! Pick up your copy at any of the locations here, or better yet, have it delivered directly to your mailbox!  Click here to subscribe.

Local News for Local Readers since 1899.
© Copyright 2009 and Terms of Use
Site Design by Bergey Creative Group